Novel Writing | Writing | Writing Tips

My Suicide Note

TRIGGER WARNING: Sensitive topic within

Ross Derbyshire
Write A Catalyst
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2024

--

AI Image Created Using Microsoft Designer. Silhouette of a man penning his final words.

FIRST AND FOREMOST: This article details a sensitive subject, suicide. Please don’t read on further if you feel this may impact your mental health in a detrimental way. Seriously. Fuck the read ratio, just leave.

I recently penned an article that attempted to document my process of writing a suicide note.

One of the commenters on that piece asked if I was to share said note, Julie Gonzales. Initially I was reluctant, but after some thought I have decided that I should.

After all, the whole point of writing this novel is so that it will be read. That includes the note.

So, here it is.

I am open to, and actively encourage, any and all feedback on this. As stated in the original article I have absolutely no frame of reference in my…

--

--

Ross Derbyshire
Write A Catalyst

A man on a mission to fulfil the promise of his 8 year old self by becoming a writer