New Writers Tips Volume 2: Common Types of Writing Scams

Ryan Canady
Write A Catalyst
Published in
5 min readMar 27, 2024

--

Photo by FlyD on Unsplash

Will the real Scam Shady please stand up?

New writers, you might not realize it, but there are some who view you as nothing more than prey.

It’s kind of scary when you think about it, and I don’t want to see you get hurt.

Typically, the worst that will happen is that your work may be stolen and your time wasted.

However, there are scenarios in which much worse can happen to you and you could end up scammed out of your money or worse.

I can’t say that I have all of the answers to keep you from every potentially being harmed by a scammer, but I can offer you some insights based on experiences I have had over the years.

If you missed Volume 1 of these series, you can check it out here:

Don’t Pay to Work

--

--

Ryan Canady
Write A Catalyst

Lily (the dog) and I are on a quest to help educate and inform writers about this craft that we all love, join us!