Righteous Anger: Are Your Feelings Justified?

Let’s look at what Jesus said and how he handled the accusations.

Wam
Write A Catalyst

--

Photo by Bermix Studio on Unsplash

I have heard this many times from members of my former church: “I hate the sin, but I love the sinner. Is this justifiable?

First, if you feel like justifying how you feel, there must be something wrong with it.

Let’s talk about “righteous anger.”

The Triggers

I know of two recent instances of people saying this. One is when David Archuleta posted his “I’m an ex-Mormon, of course…” on Tiktok. Another is the most recent one that caused a massive uproar of disgust among Christians on social media, the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games in Greece depicting “The Feast of the Gods” by Jan van Bijlert from 1635. Why? The majority, or at least the vocal ones, say they are mocking Jesus for copying the Last Supper.

In my personal experience, I’ve literally been told by one of my sisters that what she has is righteous anger. She said that she still loves me, even though she made me feel otherwise, and that she’s angry at my sin, thinks it’s unacceptable, and told me that “what’s wrong is wrong.”

It all started when I began to write openly about the history of our church. Her counterargument is that I…

--

--

Wam
Write A Catalyst

I am on a journey to unfold mysteries and see the world from another perspective. I love to write about my discoveries. Feel free to join me, neighbor!