She Almost Never Makes Eye Contact — Let’s Learn That We Are Not Our Stories, We Are So Much More!

She keeps looking down at the ground. The ground feels safer for her. It doesn’t ask anything of her

Ravinimbus
Write A Catalyst
Published in
6 min read4 days ago

--

shy girl
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

She almost never makes eye contact. Instead, she keeps looking down at the ground. The ground feels safer for her. It doesn’t ask anything of her.

It doesn’t judge. It just accepts her as she is.

As we sit together at the bar, she keeps glancing down at her vodka tonic, then at the floor, and then back to her drink. “Most people don’t understand me,” she says quietly.

“They ask questions like, ‘What’s wrong with you?’ or ‘Did something bad happen to you when you were a kid?’ I don’t answer them. I don’t feel like explaining myself, and honestly, I don’t think they really care.”

The music is getting louder inside, and it’s clear that she needs to get something off her chest. I suggest, “Want to step outside for some fresh air?”

Once we’re outside in the cool night air, she starts telling me her story. Her eyes move

--

--

Ravinimbus
Write A Catalyst

Accomplished Author of 30+ Bestsellers, Founder & CEO of IoT Meeting Hub™,Passionate about Assisting Personal Growth & Empowering Others.