Writing

Should You Post On Substack, Medium or Both To Maximize Your Earnings?

I asked writers that’ve been active on both platforms about it. Here’s what they had to say.

Lea Bardot
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

I started writing on Substack on April 21, 2024, and I’ve seen some amazing progress since then.

I got 70 subscribers + 1 paid subscribers within the first three weeks.

I’ve been writing on Medium since November 2023.

Although I’ve managed to make $1,000 a month consistently on Medium, I got only 110 subscribers since November.

This made me wonder whether I should keep writing on Substack, on Medium or both.

So I asked writers that’ve been posting on both platforms for their opinion.

I wrote the following Note:

Screenshot by author

The first insightful response came from E Mark Moore. I received his comment in another Note, a couple of days before:

--

--

Lea Bardot
Write A Catalyst

Lea, 35, mindful, non-alcoholic. I write about how I’m slowly escaping my 9-5 by growing my online writing business. I’ve written about quitting alcohol too.