Short Story

Stories Of A Different Kind

The truth is free

AC0040
Write A Catalyst

--

Photo by George Coletrain on Unsplash

Seth’s tires crunched softly on the long gravel driveway, and his headlights cast long, distorted shadows mingling with gold and red leaves that filtered through red maple trees. The tension in his chest increased as he mapped through the possibilities of Alicia’s responses.
Seth drummed his fingers along the steering wheel’s edge as soft pop played on the stereo. Seth tossed around what his father would do in this situation, but he had yet to meet the guy. He knew his mother received a large monthly check. Still, Seth had it in him to leap into forever with Alicia. Alicia told him her family wanted the perfect guy to take her hand in marriage. It’d been two years, and he hadn’t met them.
The reasons raised arguments, so he did some digging himself. God helped Seth find the right track for his life’s purpose.
Seth took inventory of himself. Her folks, with their weary eyes and tired smiles, longed for more than he could ever provide. The echoes of their hopes filled the air, mingling with the scent of longing and unspoken desires. Their expectations pressed upon Seth like a heavy burden on his shoulders, reminding him of his limitations.
He parked and saw Alicia pouring a glass of wine in the kitchen. Seth turned the tunes to classic R&B and watched her. The soft glow of the pendant lights above her highlighted her long, flowing hair, which cascaded down her shoulders like a dark silk waterfall. Seth sat and watched her curl in her maroon chair, glasses on the edge of her nose. She sat her wine on an oak end table. His eyes softened, and a smile tugged at the corner of her mouth. Seth was supposed to be mad, but he didn’t have it. He pulled out a ring from his breast pocket. It sparkled even as the sun dipped below the horizon. If only her family accepted him for growing up poor, he’d have a shot. Seth closed his hand over the ring like a dream made in the trust of breaking apart fears and parted ways with unproven assumptions.
Seth exited the car, opened the mailbox, and grabbed the newspaper. He held the rail with his free hand, scaled the steps, and moved through the door.
“Home already?” Alicia said, still reading her book.
“I finished my reports.”
“Dinner is on the stove,” she said.
“Look,” Seth said.
“Something wrong?” Alicia narrowed one eye.
“Anything you want to tell me?” Seth said, resting his hands on his hips.
“Is it going to be one of those,” she lifted her hands to scare quote, “nights?”
“It all depends,” Seth said, giving her an unbreakable eye contact.
“Okay, what’d I do, babe?” Alicia closed her book and shot upright. “What’s this all about?” She put her glasses by the dark lamp on the pine end table.
“You know what I mean,” Seth said, loosening his black tie. He lit a cancer stick.
“I said not in the house!” Alicia waved away the smoke.
Seth exhaled a drag and knocked off the ash on the maple coffee table. “I’m scared to death.”
“About what?” Alicia lifted and then lowered her arms. Her curious eyes turned into crinkled slits. “About what?” Alicia said louder than before.
Seth motioned with a sweeping hand. “Have a seat,” he said. “Please.” ’90s country music played on the stereo.
Alicia rolled her eyes. “I’m fine standing,” she said like a spoiled child.
Alicia grew up as a spoiled child. Her parents had money—lots of money. Seth thought her father looked down on him because they didn’t have as much money.
Seth reached for his back and moved his fingernails around his neck. “Your parents.”
“What about them?”
Seth’s gaze spoke for his thoughts. He took another drag.
Alicia shook her head. “You didn’t.”
“I haven’t met your parents,” Seth said. “And we’ve been together for years.”
“That’s a violation of my privacy.” Alicia raked her fingers through her hair. “I can’t believe this.”
“I needed to know,” Seth said, gesturing.
“Well…” Alicia’s eye shadow, mixed with tears, streamed down her face. “I guess you know the truth,” she cried.
“I don’t care that you grew up poor,” Seth said. “I didn’t grow up wealthy either.”
“Oh, really?” Alicia said as though she had information to the contrary.
“I told you,” he said.
“Who is Oliver Kirland?”
“I haven’t met him yet, but Oliver is my dad, and he owns oil refineries in Texas.” Seth blew out his lips, and his shoulders slumped. “I can explain.” He held up a defensive palm.
“You were jumping down my throat for lying about being rich, and here you are lying about being poor.”
“I thought you’d only want me for my money.” Seth shoved his hands into his jeans pockets.
“And I thought you’d only love me if I lied.” Alicia spilled into his arms.
“I asked your dad for your hand in marriage.”
Alicia lifted her head. “You want to marry a liar?” Her voice cracked.
“I want to marry the person I grew to love.” Seth kissed her forehead and lowered himself to one knee. He pulled the ring from his breast pocket and presented it to her. “Will you marry me?”
Alicia put her hands over her mouth, almost hyperventilating. “I do,” Alicia said, holding out her hand.
Seth slipped the ring on her finger.
A knock at the door had Alicia concerned. No one comes to visit at this time of night.
Seth opened the door, ushering in their parents for a visit.

(© 2024 AC)

(Amazon Kindle, Spillwords, The Writers Club)

Other posts at Write A Catalyst

--

--

AC0040
Write A Catalyst

U.S. Army Veteran. Paratrooper. Runner. Nonprofit. Education. I write short stories and poems.