The Long Road Home

A Story About Discovery and Coming Home

Rory Mitchell
Write A Catalyst

--

Image generated using DALL-E

We were at the tail end of our vacation in Europe. We’ve visited this particular destination every year, sometimes twice, while exploring other countries for about six months annually.

As digital nomads, my wife and I enjoy unprecedented flexibility. After a long day, we were returning to our hotel when I glimpsed an old friend from the corner of my eye.

I was surprised to see her. We hugged and chatted before she invited me to her country house. Her husband and I had been childhood friends, and I hadn’t seen him in over ten years.

Eager to reconnect, I planned to visit the next day. My wife, tied up with meetings, couldn’t join me. The journey involved a ferry ride followed by a drive.

The house, more like a mansion, overlooked a cliff with a clear view of the ocean. Beautiful gardens, a small lake, and fields with workers harvesting crops surrounded it. In the distance, a large castle loomed.

Lost in the beauty, a tap on my shoulder brought me back. She stood there, arms outstretched and smiling warmly. Taking her hand, we walked to the house where she introduced me to her friends. Her husband was not home but expected soon. He’d been talking about our childhood since learning I was in town.

--

--

Rory Mitchell
Write A Catalyst

I'm a certified multi-hyphenate wizard on the grill, avid fisherman and tinkerer, passionate about personal growth and tech. An explorer of life's many facets!