STORY TELLING| NONFICTION| LIFE

She Was ‘Married’ To A Ghost For Years Without Knowing It

This is a shocking story my neighbour once told me

Chinedu V. Onyema
Write A Catalyst
Published in
4 min readApr 25, 2024

--

Photo by Justin Snyder Photo on Unsplash

If not that I had watched a Nollywood movie entitled “The Haunted House”; I would not have had any form of idea of such probable possibility.

In literature, we were taught of the “willing suspension of self disbelief”. That means that you do not dismiss a work of art as a piece of falsehood, based on your personal doubt.

She was a distant relative of my neighbour. Her name is not too important here.

But if you insist, her name was Mary. She lived in a big Nigerian city called Lagos.

Recently, my good friend, Flora wrote a story about the (de)merits of living in big cities. This story is definitely one of the demerits, I believe.

Disclaimer: Please kindly indicate if you are not comfortable with the mention.

Mary met Oko. They mutually admired each other. One thing led to the other. Both got married.

Sorry, they did not get married. They started cohabitation. They never bothered about their mutual relatives.

They began breeding children: first, second, third, fourth … They were happily…

--

--

Chinedu V. Onyema
Write A Catalyst

From the influence of intuitive inspiration to the affluence of gracious Grace and to confluence of ideas, I write. "Life would be tragic if it weren't funny."