These Three Traits Will Help Make You a Great Writer and Human Being

Warning: reading may cause progress and lead you to face unpleasant things about yourself

David Friend
Write A Catalyst

--

Anime style picture of two kids walking down a road.
Image created by Night Café

I’m not a life coach. To be honest I don’t think anyone deserves to have that title. But I have been able to grow my following here on Medium to 70 (at the time of this writing) in less than fourteen days with just a few stories.

I think I may be doing something right.

I think the trick is to become a writer that can craft captivating stories while also being a human being that people may actually enjoy spending time with.

How do you accomplish that?

Be Vulnerable

Sometimes two people can say the exact same thing, and one will gain the respect of the listeners while the other gets contempt.

The difference is one person was honest about his failures, weaknesses, adversity, and mistakes, and identified as a member of the audience. That person gets respect.

The one who gets contempt is pretending to be on a higher plane and wagging his finger down at the audience.

Being vulnerable means putting the unpleasant things about yourself on display for others to see and opening…

--

--

David Friend
Write A Catalyst

Writing to help other people be successful. Follow me for daily tips and insights that will help you reach your goals.