They Lied to Us — Money Does Buy a Little Bit of Happiness

Forget mindset, let’s talk real solutions for this inflation nightmare

Millennial Mom
Write A Catalyst
3 min readFeb 18, 2024

--

Photo by Emilio Takas on Unsplash

You know when your bank account balance looks like a bad math joke?

Well, my life is that joke, and honestly,

I’m over it.

We, rather, my husband, works his butt off, and prices still rise faster than my kid can down a juice box. And he can down one in 30 seconds.

It’s like playing an unwinnable game of whack-a-mole with our finances — just when I think I’ve got one bill figured out,

BAM!

three more pop up, more aggressive than the last.

They say money isn’t everything, and in a way, they’re right —

I’d gladly trade places with someone who has so much money that it genuinely doesn’t matter anymore. 🥴

Because here in the real world, those “financial gurus” and their relentless pep talk are starting to wear thin.

Tell me again how I’m supposed to think happy thoughts when deciding between fresh vegetables or covering my electric bill?

My reaction when I see the bills. HA! Jk, the husband pays them. Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

I know I’m not alone here. Inflation is a cruel biotch currently hanging out around 6.4% as of January 2024.

The cost of living? Skyrocketing.

What are our (the collective our) wages doing? Chilling out like they’re on a permanent tropical vacation. 🌴

The government sure hasn’t gotten the message that rent, food, and the basic necessities to actually stay alive all cost way more than they used to.

Yes, money won’t solve every problem or erase all of life’s frustrations. But let’s not downplay the impact it has.

I don’t think they know about rising inflation. Photo by Calvin Shelwell on Unsplash

Here’s what some financial breathing room would do:

🍀Peace of mind: Knowing bills are covered? It’s not a feeling many of us have experienced recently. At least, not my family.

That alone would alleviate a world of stress, freeing up mental bandwidth that’s better spent on making memories, not stressing about them.

🍀Ability to plan: Instead of every decision being a financial crisis, a bit of stability helps us think about the future.

Maybe, just maybe start a savings account or consider bigger goals than “make it to next Friday without resorting to cereal for dinner”

🍀The right “extras”: I’m not talking yachts or designer wardrobes.

  • Proper swimming lessons for the kids
  • Replacing worn-out appliances before they die a dramatic death
  • Maybe the luxury of buying a decent birthday gift without breaking into a cold sweat?
Photo by dylan nolte on Unsplash

Don’t get me wrong, I love my life, all the messy and amazing parts of it.

Money isn’t the magic ingredient to endless happiness, but it sure would ease the daily struggles that take a toll.

I still hold out hope for that lottery win, come on fate 🤞🏽 but frankly, a raise and prices that aren’t in some mad dash to outer space would make this tired mama pretty darn joyful.

Please let me know, am I off-base here?

Do you ever just wish there was an off-switch for financial worries?

What would a bit of extra cash change in your life?

Hopefully one day I’ll be able to enjoy a full night’s sleep without an anxiety-fueled budget dream.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Thanks for reading!

If you liked this story, give a few claps, a follow or both!

Til next time!

--

--

Millennial Mom
Write A Catalyst

general musings from a millennial mom and wife. With a side of humor and self-deprecation. Join my new publication: The Accidental Wordsmith