This Is The Reason Why I’m Not Afraid to Be Seen

Dee Chapman
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readJul 7, 2024

--

When I decided to launch my book on Amazon KDP, I was nervous. Like, sweaty palms, heart-racing, can’t-sleep-at-night nervous. And a big part of that anxiety was worrying about what other people would think.

Image Generated With Dalle-3

Overcoming Fear and Doubts

I knew that not everyone in my circle would “get” it. Most of my friends and family are used to me working a traditional 9-to-5, not hustling as an authorpreneur or an entrepreneur at all (not too many people know that I’m a freelancer).

I could virtually already hear the whispers: “A self-help journal? Who does she think she is?”

But God had other plans. He nudged me (okay, maybe it was more like a shove) to share my book on my personal Facebook and Instagram pages. And let me tell you, that was a whole other level of nerve-wracking.

I mean, these are the people who’ve known me since I was wearing pigtails and wire rim glasses. They’ve seen me at my best and my worst. And now, I’m putting myself out there, asking them to support my creative endeavor. It felt vulnerable, to say the least.

But here’s what I realized: their opinions don’t matter.

--

--

Dee Chapman
Write A Catalyst

I💖Jesus, my son, making money online and sharing my thoughts about life. Join me on my journey. https://buymeacoffee.com/deechap