This One Thing Will Keep You Writing

Oumaima Asmama
Write A Catalyst
Published in
5 min read6 days ago
Photo by Karolina Kaboompics on Pexels

You Have Graduated, Now What?

As a Gen Z, I found it hard to relate to video creators or authors online who weren’t in the same situation as I was. Finding a job was tough at first, and I even started having panic attacks. The content available out there seemed tailored to people in different fields, from different generations, or with completely different goals. I wasn’t trying to become an influencer, a real estate developer (I didn’t have the money or the knowledge), or even an investor/trader (I found out I needed money to make more of it). All I had was a pricey diploma, and I started doubting its value.

Did I just spend all that money for… nothing?

I was flabbergasted, shocked, frustrated. I couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. It’s one thing to hear about other people’s struggles; it’s another to live them.

What Did I Truly Want to Find?

I wanted something I could relate to. I wanted a formula that could either help me or lessen the struggle and the stress of job hunting. So, I began searching for tips & tricks to help with the following:

  1. How to improve my resume
  2. How to nail every interview
  3. How to climb the corporate ladder quickly

All of this information was available online in 2019 when I graduated. The problem was, I wanted a single, relatable, and reliable source with all the data that I needed. I did not want to waste hours sifting through content that did not resonate with me or my situation. It was hard to find quality content.

I Wanted a One-Stop Guide

At that time, I didn’t have a choice. I had to go through various types of content, filter through it, apply what seemed useful, and discard what didn’t. It was exhausting, but I had to keep moving forward, no matter how difficult it was.

Life is Harsh on Everyone, But With a Little Help, You Can Make it Work

Fast forward a few years, and while scrolling on TikTok, I see hundreds of Gen Zers struggling to find jobs. The economic situation we graduated into was far from ideal. But, if you know what works and what doesn’t, you might just have more “luck” than the rest of the job seekers.

This Is Why I Wanted To Start Writing On Medium

Providing others with what I wish I had when I graduated drives me to write. I feel it is my duty to share my journey and help others struggling today, just as I did five years ago.

The media can call Gen Z hoppers, lazy, or whatever they want, but the media is run by people from other generations who experienced better circumstances than those the world faces today. I’m not talking about Gen Zers who chose “new jobs” like influencers or YouTubers. I’m talking about those who opted for traditional 9–5s. Nowadays, it seems everyone has a degree, and nobody is hiring. For entry-level jobs, you need a decade of experience. I’m here to support all the Gen Zers (and other generations too) in finding a way out. There is a light at the end of the tunnerl, and I’m more than happy to hold the torch until they ignite theirs.

Photo by hitesh choudhary on Pexels

How Does My Story Help You Write?

The importance of knowing your why.

It’s simple to get sucked into an activity just because you believe it will be lucrative.

  • How many people have tried “Affiliate Marketing” and given up within the first few months?
  • How many people have tried to grow their following on TikTok or Instagram and given up within the first week?
  • How many have started drop shipping and given up within the first few months?

Money can drive you to try a multitude of things while you’re waiting for that big “hit”. But if you do not know your why, you won’t be resilient. You won’t stick with it very long.

The same applies to writing. If you don’t know the reason why you’re writing in the first place, at some point, it will eventually feel like a chore. You won’t stay in it for the long run. Especially if you’re trying to make a living from it. If you don’t care about writing, or if you don’t know why you’re doing it, chances are you will stop generating content after a period of time.

In addition to that, you won’t be proactively trying to improve your writing style or doing the necessary research on what works and what doesn’t. You’ll approach it half-heartedly and you may even start resenting it; which will ultimately drive you to give up.

But, that’s not all…

Photo by Leon Ardho on Pexels

Knowing Your Why Shouldn’t Confound You

You may know why you are doing something, but it is essential to learn to be resilient. Resiliency & knowing your why both help you keep moving forward when things get difficult. Starting anything from scratch is never easy. Your biggest fans are often strangers. But, you will only bring value to the lives of those strangers if you build resilience no matter what life throws at you. This applies not only to writing, but to anything you decide to undertake in your life.

However, it is vital to learn from your mistakes. You need to fail fast and adjust your tactics if you want to stay in the game for the long haul. Writers are, after all, readers. You cannot write well if you do not read. Find stories of those who struggled in the beginning and eventually made it. These stories will help you push through and move forward; they will help you build resilience. Don’t give up because you are not currently getting the flow of readers you aspire to have. There are hundreds of successful authors whose first thousand words went unread.

  • Ask for feedback from readers, editors, and other writers.
  • Develop your writing style by reading books.
  • Consume content online to sophisticate your writing.
  • Expand your vocabulary.
  • Try new strategies and writing styles.
  • Pay attention to your statistics.
  • Use different writing platforms to reach different types of readers.
  • Stay curious.

Remember, every successful journey starts with a single step, and sometimes that step is the hardest to take. Keep pushing forward, stay true to your why, and don’t let setbacks discourage you. The path to success is rarely a straight line, but with resilience, and passion for what you’re doing, you will find your way.

--

--

Oumaima Asmama
Write A Catalyst

Quality Analyst @Amazon. Just a corporate professional navigating my way to success, one step at a time.