What About You? Will You Keep Writing, or Will You Quit Because of Your Stats?

Oumaima Asmama
Write A Catalyst
Published in
4 min readJul 22, 2024
Photo by Cottonbro Studio on Pexels

It’s been 10 articles and 34 reads. No wonder so many people quit.

I’m a FAANG full-time Quality Analyst, numbers and science have always been a main part of my life ever since I was a child. But, surprise surprise, I started a hobby as a writer on Medium!

One thing is for sure, despite the emergence of artificial intelligence, writers should keep their jobs. If you think about it, writers have to:

  1. Identify a meaningful topic that offers unique value.
  2. Write it in a way that connects deeply with the readers’ feeling.
  3. Be creative, using analogies and jokes to make the writing relatable.
  4. Make it interesting so that people want to read it.
  5. Publish it where people can see it.
  6. Market it well to reach the right audience.
  7. Follow any rules of the platform to increase the chance of it going viral.

The amount of cognitive effort that this requires is to be applauded. You may even apply all of the above and still be overlooked. Some people may spend decades writing before they get their big hit. If writers do not want it badly enough, they may never get there. On the other hand, there are other ones that only get hit after hit without any proper explanation. I can only pray to get their luck.

So, in my journey trying to understand and hone my writing skills, I am starting to understand all the intricacies that it takes to make it on Medium. To the 1% that are thriving, hats off. I don’t know how you did it, but you did it and I am impressed. To the rest, it may look like we are not making it right now, but we might. Who knows; looking at the positive side, we are:

  1. Improving our writing skills.
  2. Expanding our knowledge in different topics.
  3. Understanding what it takes to stand out.
  4. Building resilience and patience.
  5. Using trial & error and banking on the things that work.
  6. Learning from others.
  7. Bonus: Our followers are intellectuals ;)

My journey so far on Medium is peculiar. I’m learning the ropes and trying to find my groove. Even though my first 10 articles haven’t brought huge numbers. Instant gratification will remain one of my biggest flaws, and an opportunity for growth. I’m however very pleased with the followers I’ve gained, doctors, data scientists, and writers, what better could I ask for? Every time I think about that, I have a big smile on my face. It may seem that 27 followers are not a lot, but I think about the quality rather than the quantity!

Am I planning to stop writing just because of my stats? Absolutely not! I’m passionate about what I do and eager to share my experience with young professionals worldwide. I focus on the “business and corporate” niche because, even though I am a Gen Z, I believe my experiences can help millions of others in my generation. Our generation has changed the job market a lot, and while there are many articles about us, business owners often say we bring serious challenges. Changing mentalities is difficult, but at least, I am happy to equip everyone that wants to with tips & tricks on how to overcome all the challenges that they can face while working their 9 to 5.

Also…

I didn’t even know that people could get paid on Medium!

(We’re the Millers, 2013, 00:48:30)

Seeing people talk about their earnings was eye-opening! Not only can you share what you’re passionate about, but you can also make a living from it. If that’s not an incentive, I don’t know what is! As far as I’m concerned, I know I still have a long way to go before truly succeeding in writing. While many people are earning a lot from this, not everyone does.

I’m not writing for money or fame. My goal is to help others navigate through corporate life with the right tips and tricks, and to minimize as many mental breakdowns as possible. When I started working, I didn’t have anyone to show me the way. Let me be that person for you through my articles.

What about you? Will you keep writing, or will you quit because of your stats?

--

--

Oumaima Asmama
Write A Catalyst

Quality Analyst @Amazon. Just a corporate professional navigating my way to success, one step at a time.