What Have I Learned After Trying Several Writing Platforms?

JamieWrites
Write A Catalyst
Published in
4 min readAug 20, 2024

--

Some are much better than others

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

As a keen writer and content creator, I have explored several platforms as I weaved my way towards making a regular income from writing.

Originally I used Wordpress to create a basic blog, which was a fun hobby and led to my interest in online content creation.

Little did I know, online writing would end up as an important side hustle for me and begin paying some of my bills as well.

As my interest grew and I investigated other platforms, I have discovered which places are valuable and which are not very good for writing side hustlers.

Comparing Sites

Wordpress Blog

After writing regular articles and poems, I decided to monetise my blog, using Google AdSense to place small adverts around my text. This was a good place t0 start but was soon replaced by Ezoic adverts. Ezoic works by finding the best places to put adverts and generates video adverts to place appropriately around a blog.

This only made me about £20 a month but I additionally began using a sponsorship app for influencers to find advertisers who match my content. The Intellifluence app has been excellent and pays around $100 for a…

--

--

JamieWrites
Write A Catalyst

Freelance writer, author and blogger. Passionate about books, theatre and the environment. Everyone should have a healthy work-life balance so I share my tips.