When I See People Post Their Stats on Medium, Mine Are Nowhere Close

Jack Writes
Write A Catalyst
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Image by Cottonbro Studio on Pexels

It’s nearly impossible to browse Medium and not come across a blog of someone posting their earnings.

“My first 30 days on Medium. Here’s how much I earned”

“February earnings update”

“How I am going to make one million dollars per month on Medium”

Most of the time, the people who post their earnings are doing pretty well, likely surpassing the average Medium user by a considerable margin.

I wanted to write this to shed light on the other side of Medium users, us average joes happy to make a couple bucks here and there.

My Earnings Through Seven Months (pretty big month for me so far!)

As you can see, my earnings are far from impressive, and I’ve been on the platform for seven months.

I’m on Medium because I love it. I enjoy sharing ideas with others and also glimpsing into the mind’s of fellow writers on a very wide range of topics.

I wanted something productive to do to get me away from scrolling on social media, so now I just turn to Medium.

Anyways, I guess my point in this article is to show that there can be a number of benefits that can be found through this platform besides potentially earning some money, including:

  • Becoming a better writer
  • Connecting with like minded people
  • Reading and getting smarter
  • Being productive in your free time

If your numbers are down, don’t sweat it. You are still moving in the right direction.

--

--