Why Cheetahs Are Bad at Building Habits

Learn from snails instead.

Tristan Tell
Write A Catalyst

--

A snail sits in front of a cheetah that is fletching its teeth
Image created by autohr using Bing AI

I knew the next 12 minutes would be pure pain.

I dragged myself to the starting line, glancing at the girls sitting in the shade next to the track.

They had excused themselves with „lady problems“.

I couldn’t blame them. I’d have loved to skip on the Cooper test.

The Cooper test is simple, yet brutal: you have 12 minutes to run as far around the track field as you can.

Looking to my left and right, I saw the dreadful faces of my classmates.

There was one exception, though.

One face bore a confident, almost cocky expression.

It was Sarah’s.

Sarah hadn’t excused herself. On the contrary, she seemed excited.

„I go running every day,“ she said, „this is my opportunity to shine.“

The Flash himself became envious

When our teacher blew the whistle, she darted off.

I couldn’t believe what I saw. It was incredible.

She led the field by at least half a mile.

Even the captain of the track team that competed on a national level couldn’t match…

--

--