Why I Rarely Take Advice

Barbara J. Martin
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2024

--

And question everything

Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

I think back to my abusive parents and consider today that maybe they did me a favor.

By confusing my young mind with faulty beliefs and discouraging comments, I struggled against their distorted thinking.

Wait a minute, I said to myself. Maybe they’re wrong? How can I be stupid if sometimes I feel smart, and be ugly when others say I’m pretty?

I fought through all the bullshit determined to find my own mind, and when I finally did years later, I realized a valuable lesson.

I had learned the importance of questioning others, from their opinions to their criticism of me. And the more I questioned them the more I realized how little their opinions and advice meant.

And what’s more, like my parents, they resented being questioned in the first place.

Maybe it’s because I fought for my sanity all those years ago that taught me to question everything. But I’ll tell you what.

I think everyone should question advice.

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

My parents ideas and beliefs were twisted and intended to manipulate me. And although…

--

--

Barbara J. Martin
Write A Catalyst

I live off grid in a small cabin by the ocean in Maine with my two dogs. It's the perfect writer's retreat and love the peace and quiet.