Why My Medium Moniker Is the Best Choice For My Content

It matters more than you realize

Yana Bostongirl
Write A Catalyst

--

Do you want to hear a funny story?

Upon seeing my name in your daily feed, I’m sure it elicits a range of reactions — some positive along with a few expected eye rolls. Or curiosity.

All good because I believe the least desirable response would be indifference upon encountering a (familiar) writer’s name.

You know, at one point my articles on Medium were being heavily distributed. This led one writer to comment that each time she logged into her account and saw my name at the top of her feed, she was put off by it.

I can’t help but wonder if her reaction would be the same if it were her name instead of mine.

Nah, I highly doubt it.

I had another reader, a guy this time, who said he never checked the titles of my posts but clicked on them anyway whenever my profile image popped up in his feed.

In that way, my name and profile image have been beneficial in framing and naming my little corner in Mediumland.

I wish I could say I came up with this name and profile picture after deliberate contemplation.

--

--

Yana Bostongirl
Write A Catalyst

💕I am a Boston-based blogger who writes about love, life & relationships💕| My Substack is Yana's World 🦋 https://yanabostongirl.substack.com/ 🦋 Come say hi!