Why You Should Stop Wishing and Start Embracing

The Simple Trick to Finding the Magic in Any Moment

X
Write A Catalyst

--

Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

This is my first season playing basketball in France; honestly, things haven’t gone exactly how I expected. I started off playing well, but it's been a big shift from playing in Spain overall in many aspects.

Frustrations

The language barrier has thrown me off more than I expected. Of course, I knew a new language would be presented, but I didn’t expect it to affect me the way it has. The lack of cooked meals also threw me off a bit. Going from having catered meals to cooking myself, I didn’t anticipate how time-consuming it would be. Then living alone which I had specifically asked for, left me plagued with more loneliness than I thought. I’m often not going anywhere besides to practice and back home. The city also has been a bit surprising because of the lack of youth. It's a beach city where people usually retire, there are either young children or the elderly.

All of these things threw me off a bit when I first arrived, and then to add to it after a month or two of playing well I encountered some struggles on the court. All of this combined had me counting down the days until I could get out of here. Just trying to get by each day.

Don’t Miss Out

--

--

X
Write A Catalyst

Stories about living overseas, playing professionally, and working with data. As well as everything else in-between this thing we call life