Writers: Is This An Effective Way of Boosting Post Visibility?

Then why aren’t more people utilizing this strategy?

Yana Bostongirl
Write A Catalyst

--

Just as I do now, I used to read a lot as a newbie writer but with one difference. I’d hesitate to clap and comment on writers with already big follower counts because I worried whether I’d be able to make an interesting contribution to the comments without well, sounding, cringe.

It wasn’t just that. Some already had a gazillion claps and comments which to me was intimidating as a newbie so I just chose to lurk.

Now, I observe the same thing is happening to me.

I get the reads and engagement but they’re rarely from newbies.

Lol, I don’t bite.

I’m a firm believer that claps amplify visibility. Look at the pinned posts of any number of writers, including mine. It’s usually their best-performing posts with lots of claps.

The claps were not courtesy of one clappers who are everywhere these days.

Or.

Could they be one of those writers who like to grade an article and dole out claps accordingly?

Yup, some clap based on a grading system — 1 for blah, 2 for bleh, 3 for eh, and 5 is what passes for an A grade.

--

--

Yana Bostongirl
Write A Catalyst

💕I am a Boston-based blogger who writes about love, life & relationships💕| My Substack is Yana's World 🦋 https://yanabostongirl.substack.com/ 🦋 Come say hi!