Writing Tools I Use and Every Writer Must Own

Tanisha Tiwari
Write A Catalyst
Published in
4 min readJul 14, 2024

--

You do not have to spend money to access these tools.

Source: Freepik

Hello, and apologies for not writing daily on Medium.

Life has been keeping me busy, not for the wrong reasons though.

Writing, as I have always told you is my hightail and I can say it proudly even though I have not started to call myself the author of a best-seller yet(which everybody is these days).

I write because I like living, a lot and jotting words for you to read is my daily bread.

Even when I have had a full meal of continuous workflow, I miss the bread. I miss the craving. The will to write something… anything…

I know it sounds a lot to non-writers, but ask a writer what he/she misses, and they will speak about the days they cannot write for whatever reasons.

But my fellow writers, you do not need to worry.

You can write at your own pace.

The world is still gonna have to say things, you dodge them right away. That’s the trick!

Oh, I did that again, didn’t I? Shared the unnecessary information!

But let’s come back to the point.

I meet a lot of people who want to write and I meet a lot of them who do write.

Here’s the only difference apart from their willingness to serve the art: the tools they use.

So, you will read ahead the three major tools every writer should use because yes these tools make all the difference.

  1. The OPINION tool

Source: Pinterest

You can not be a writer if you do not use the opinion tool.

The opinion tool helps you write what you think despite considering what other people could say about a certain topic/subject/incident.

A quick question: What will you write if you do not have opinions?

A quick answer to that: Absolutely nothing.

You can’t debate on this; every writer out there is writing his/her opinion.

If you write a sentence, the first two words are your opinions. If you are lucky enough, you can write a paragraph and a complete book based on your opinions.

A little secret: Your favourite authors who write self-help books, life journeys, fiction, and non-fiction, all are your favourites because you like how opinionated they are.

The magic tool is your opinion. It is what differentiates you from others. Your opinions shape your life, your craft and your art.

2. The GRIEF tool

Source: Pinterest

The grief tool helps you build an impactful story that gets your audience hooked, connects you to your readers and in return, they sympathise with you.

A blunt but honest piece of advice I received from a publisher I know: Sell your grief. It is the plot that works every time.

Remember when you followed his blogs because of how traumatic his childhood was? How sad you were when she was divorced and when you loved how her relationship was so perfect. How doomed you felt when their parents died at such a young age?

This is what the grief tool is used for. It creates an unforgettable plot; something that stays with the readers forever.

Learn to use the brief tool perfectly and your writing journey is sorted (at least half of it).

I know some people(including me) might feel using the grief tool is a little overboard but it does work every time.

3. The LEARNING tool

Source: Pinterest

You can not be a writer or creative if you do not master the learning tool.

Wherever you are, whatever you write, always aim to learn at whatever cost.

Take some time to spend on your writing style, building character arcs, connecting stories, knowing exposition, creating different plot styles, crafting blogs, building articles, and researching.

The point is to learn as much as you can.

Learning never goes out of style.

Expertise in these tools will help you become the writer you have already dreamed of becoming. So, get going. It is all free and accessible!

If you are already here, you must check ‘I WILL WIN WITHOUT WAR’ which was written after I mastered most of what is explained above.

--

--

Tanisha Tiwari
Write A Catalyst

Content Manager For The Government Of India, Author, and Everything I Would Want To Call Myself