You Don’t Need Your Email List To Build an Online Business

How to make the most of your online audience

Andikan David
Write A Catalyst
3 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

It was 8 am.

The morning after my birthday, I just sat there staring at the ceiling wondering if I clocked another year without actually having any tangible results.

I knew I wanted to be a writer, I mean that was basically the only thing I could do with the level of skills I had at the time.

My first article on Medium didn’t go so well and I was just wondering if I should continue.

I pulled myself together and published the second article and then the next and then I began to build momentum and I started to understand something called Publications on Medium.

While trying to get into some publications, I was looking for where I'd get paid for my articles.

It took me time to realize I wasn’t eligible for the Medium Partner Program and I had to find another way to make money writing.
That’s when I found out about email lists.

Your email list

Most people don’t see the need to build an email list or talk less about a newsletter but it’s really simple.

You don’t need to build your email list. It’s not a necessity. You just have to constantly depend on certain platforms to help you reach your target audience.

And if something happens one day and those platforms stop helping you reach your audience, your business suddenly suffers.

Building online is simple. You have a product or service I need and I pay you money for it. However, the process of getting people that buy is even harder.

But when you do get this person, you need some kind of list to keep their contacts all inside so you can offer them your services shortly.

This way you reduce the stress of having to find new customers repeatedly.

I'm not good enough

I was working with one of my clients. She had about 700+ followers on X and then 100+ followers on Medium.

The only issue she didn’t figure out a way to convert this audience into money.
I talked to her about why she didn’t previously start a newsletter.
She said she didn’t think she was newsletter material.

And the truth is most of us feel like we don't have anything to the people in our email lists.

But that’s not true.
One actionable tip each week is enough to keep them on your list.
I gave this client a seven-step plan for creating and monetizing her newsletter.

She’s currently on her way to getting her first 10 newsletter subscribers.

Conclusion
The mistake most creators make is building an audience online and not starting an email list early enough.
Your email list is the heart of your online business.

--

--

Andikan David
Write A Catalyst

Founder & CEO | I'll teach you how to build a profitable one-person business | Get my FREE Beginner's Guide⬇️ https://theweekendintrapreneur.ck.page