5 Reasons Why We Need a ‘Princess Bride’ Remake

The case for relaunching a beloved classic

Walter Rhein
Write and Review
Published in
6 min readAug 23, 2020

--

Image courtesy of Walter Rhein

It’s been kind of funny to monitor social media lately and witness the hysteria over the proposed remake of The Princess Bride. If memes are to be believed, people are losing their mind over the idea that anyone other than Cary Elwes plays the man in black, or anyone other than Chris Sarandon plays the evil Prince Humperdinck.

Wait a minute… who?

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m a fan of the 1987 film, and I watch it regularly with my kids. It’s just that, I’m not like the rest of you. I did not get to know Inigo Montoya or Princess Buttercup through the film. I’m one of those people that read William Goldman’s book before it ever became a movie, and after watching the film, my initial thought was, “Well, that was okay… but it’s not exactly what I hoped for.”

The book is a different experience

The main thing the film had going for it was that William Goldman also wrote the screenplay. And why not? Goldman is one of the most famous Hollywood screenwriters of all time. The guy did Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, that alone makes him a legend.

The film version of the book does a lot to capture the whimsy of the novel. If you haven’t read it, go out…

--

--

Walter Rhein
Write and Review

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com