About Write and Review

A community dedicated to celebrating authors

Walter Rhein
Write and Review
Published in
5 min readJun 2, 2020

--

Image by Walter Rhein

Thank you for your interest in Write and Review!

I have been working as a writer for more than 20 years, and I’ve met a lot of talented writers throughout the years. I’m often frustrated by the bland and uninspired storytelling that can be found in works released by major publishers, and I delight in navigating the vast universe of small press and independent novels.

Anyone who aspires to be a writer needs to dedicate a certain amount of his or her work week to writing reviews for fellow authors. If you are a new author, there is no better way to build a community than to review every book you read. Money is always tight for beginning writers, and reviews are like love letters that provide the encouragement for many struggling artists to carry on.

Building A Community

I firmly believe that book reviews should be free to the author. However there are many ways writers can receive a financial benefit from writing reviews. Reviews help you establish a network and create greater visibility for your own work. Once you achieve a certain level of notoriety as a reviewer, you might also find yourself inundated with offers of free products in exchange for reviews.

My purpose with this page is to organize all my reviews in one place and to begin to build a community of reviewers. The more people that are involved, the more works we can elevate, and the wider the reach of our efforts.

How To Contribute

If you would like to contribute to this publication, please follow and interact with some of the existing reviews. An interaction can be a clap (or multiple claps), comment, or share. I will see your interactions in my dashboard.

Next, send an email with ‘Request to Write for Write and Review’ in the subject line to: WalterRhein@gmail.com. I will then add you as a writer.

After I’ve added you as a writer, you can submit a draft. First, create a new post in your Medium dashboard. Then, click on the three dots in the upper right hand corner. The dots will bring you to this drop down menu:

--

--

Walter Rhein
Write and Review

I have 10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist.