An Engaging Story of Personal Regret that Also Dabbles in Time Travel

‘Key To Yesterday’ by Jonathan Young and Dennis Houghton

Walter Rhein
Write and Review
Published in
5 min readJun 5, 2022

--

Image by Walter Rhein

I was about twenty-five pages into Key to Yesterday when I said to myself, “Okay, what’s this novel about?”

At that point I read the back cover copy only to find this:

To reveal anything of the plot would be to give too much away so I would suggest you read the reviews. Just the good ones please — Excerpt from the back cover copy of Key to Yesterday

I have to say, I rather liked that line so I shrugged and kept reading.

I’d rather read blind in most cases

Most of the time, I’m not inclined to read the back cover copy anyway, although there was a time when authors seemed to operate on the assumption that you knew a few of the things that were going on.

Personally, I’d rather not know.

I’m the kind of person who likes to stumble upon a movie at two in the morning and spend the whole viewing time trying to catch up.

It’s kind of surprising how few books allow readers to orient on the merits of the actual text. What’s the mystery? Why am I reading this? What’s going on? I’m just realizing all of those questions…

--

--

Walter Rhein
Write and Review

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com