An Honest and Reflective Love Memoir

‘I Love You, We Said’ by Ben Human

Walter Rhein
Write and Review
Published in
4 min readApr 26, 2022

--

Image by Walter Rhein

I kind of feel as if I’ve written this book. I’m hesitant to offer too many criticisms because if you go through any of the things I’ve published, you’ll be able to find numerous examples of the very objections I might mention.

You said you weren’t supposed to do this! Why then did you do it here and here and here?”

The short answer is that’s the thing about writing. You tell yourself you’re not going to do something, but the moment you start writing that very thing miraculously appears.

I Love You, We Said by Ben Human is a nice little love memoir. Human refers to the book as “an autofiction.” I assume that means it’s fiction but that basically everything in the book actually happened in one form or another.

Of course, you can say that about almost any book.

When it comes to writing about past romances, the trick is not to be unfair. Perhaps that’s less a trick and more of an insurmountable challenge.

We’re all inclined to paint ourselves with greater charity than we might deserve. There’s denial, there’s anger, there are the other stages of grief. It can all be pretty entertaining for the spectators.

--

--

Walter Rhein
Write and Review

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com