Blood of a Fallen God by Joshua C. Cook

Walter Rhein
Write and Review
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2020

--

A quality fantasy novel reminiscent of the work of Raymond E. Feist

Photo Courtesy of Walter Rhein

I try to keep fit by cycling, and I listen to a lot of audio books to keep me entertained as the hours go by. The older my children get, the less control I have over what we watch on television in the evening. Lately we’ve been watching a lot of animated films about flying unicorns and whatnot. It’s only with my personal audio books that I’m allowed to make a choice.

I’ve found that my exercise hours in any given week provide a good indication of how much I enjoy a book. When I’m really engaged, I start riding more so I can hear more of the story. If I don’t like the book, my exercise hours start to taper off.

I’d just finished The King’s Buccaneer by Raymond E. Feist when I started in with Blood of a Fallen God by Joshua C. Cook. Feist is very much a major figure in fantasy writing. To put it in terms of 60's music, it’s more or less fair to say that if Tolkien is The Beatles, Feist is approximately The Who. For further comparison, I’d put George R. R. Martin down somewhere next to Jefferson Airplane. Suffice it to say, Feist is very good and I was concerned it wouldn’t be fair to judge Joshua C. Cook in that context.

Imagine my surprise when I found my cycling hours starting to go up!

--

--

Walter Rhein
Write and Review

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com