Escapist Fantasy That’s Perfect for Exercise and Road Trips

A City in Blue by Joshua C. Cook

Walter Rhein
Write and Review
Published in
5 min readMay 24, 2022

--

Image by Walter Rhein

Most of my “reading” is done when I’m out for a run or riding my bicycle. I put reading in quotation marks because I devour audiobooks.

Some argue that listening to an audiobook doesn’t count as reading, but I think that belief is absurd. From a completely practical standpoint, there aren’t enough hours in the day. Audiobooks allow you to double down on your productivity.

There’s a certain type of audiobook that is perfect for exercise. It has to be engaging without requiring focused concentration.

For example, you can’t really listen to a literature anthology on audiobook. Sure, poems and stories that have stood the test of time are thought-provoking and beautifully crafted, but if you can’t give one hundred percent of your brain to exploring them, you’re quickly left behind.

Most of the time when I’m out running or riding my bike, I listen to Raymond E. Feist or David Gemmell (though even David Gemmell can be too much).

Essentially, I like a good adventure story. I like a nice distraction that lulls me into a passive mode of thought that spares me from enduring stress from the ever encroaching problems of the world. I’m always happy to discover another series…

--

--

Walter Rhein
Write and Review

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com