I’m a Sucker For Vampire Stories (See What I Did There?)

A review of ‘A Long Time Dead’ by Samara Breger

Walter Rhein
Write and Review
Published in
4 min readMay 2, 2023

--

Image by Walter Rhein

I always think it’s interesting to remark on the point where a book caused me to sit up and take notice. Sometimes it takes 100 pages. Sometimes it’s less than fifty. For A Long Time Dead by Samara Breger, it happened on the third page.

I know because I marked the passage.

The book begins with the character Poppy awakening to the realization that she has become a vampire. The woman guiding her through the process is another vampire named Roisin. On page 3, Roisin informs Poppy that she can no longer eat food.

Poppy is distressed by this to the point where she begins to cry. She’s devastated by the fact that she’ll no longer be able to partake in various, simple delights the rest of us take for granted. Also, the scene is presented in a way that’s kind of funny.

No more food! Seriously, that’s what you’re fretting about?

This scene reminded me of a moment from real life.

I was sitting in the delivery room with my wife after the birth of our first daughter. It had been a long labor and my wife was very hungry. She’s one of those people who can eat and eat and eat and who always remains thin. Her stomach often runs the…

--

--

Walter Rhein
Write and Review

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com