Mass Shootings Create Trauma that Lasts for Years after the Media Loses Interest

A review of ‘Sins of the System’ by Regina M. Griego. Ph.D.

Walter Rhein
Write and Review
Published in
7 min readJun 14, 2022

--

Image by Walter Rhein

My own community recently had to endure an unimaginable tragedy. At the end of April, a 10 year old girl was murdered not a mile from where I am typing this.

I received an alert from the school that a child had gone missing early in the morning, and went out with my dog to join in the search. My life changed on that day, and I’m not sure it will ever be the same.

Since then we’ve had the Buffalo shooting, Uvalde, and countless other incidents across the country. For decades, our nation has been committed to an irrational and steadfast refusal to do anything about gun violence. Most of my writing over the last few weeks has dealt with approaching this topic from a number of angles.

Why is this happening?

Who is responsible?

How can we make it stop?

Sins of the System is a book about a mass shooting. It’s a difficult read, but based on my own recent experience with tragedy, I recognize it as wholly authentic. This is a book that’s willing to ask the hard questions, and it’s an important book for anyone who really wants to understand the sickness that’s plaguing…

--

--

Walter Rhein
Write and Review

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com