best friendPhoto by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

A note for my Bestfriend

Shreya Shukla
Writenshare
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2022

--

Dear Nour...
Nour my best friend, a few months back with a lot of dreams in her eyes and love in her heart she turns 25. pettiest girl I know who is a little scared of things, the girl who is not perfect but the girl who is learning to be perfect. the girl who is not strong but learning to be strong.. a girl full of emotions learning to control her emotions…
she is Nour my best friend. the girl whom I love the most. the girl who is perfect for me .. whenever you feel anything wrong, good, bad, happy, or confused you come to me and just frame the story which is going in your mind. you blame yourself when something wrong happens to you or your dear ones. you become the happiest person in this world when someone says she looks pretty. smaller things can make you sad and the smallest can make you happy.
I just wanna tell my girl.. baby you are perfect the way you smile and go blank, the way you walk and hit your legs, the way you handle the situation and messed up, the way you hold things and break, the way you talk and a fumble. this shit is way more interesting than perfection. these are the thing that makes you Nour .. my Nour ..when things get messy, you make mistakes and this whole world is less shiny, you will have only yourself by your side because you are the only person you are going to get for rest of your life I will always there for calm your racing heartbeat but you need to keep breathing for your self.
Stop listening to the definition of perfect.. define your perfection …please be kind to yourself. you are not as bad as you think, you are braver than you think to believe in yourself even if today it sucks trust it will be better tomorrow or let’s just hope for a better tomorrow. stop blaming your mistakes, learn from them. make plans, if plan A does not work make plan B .. fail even multiple times but do not stop making plans and believing your gut feeling.
you are the good friend I can ever get. perfection does not make someone worth loving after all I love you, Nour. I have known you for the past several years and I know my best friend is all worth of every single thing so stop trying to be perfect just say hi when someone in the bar says you are pretty. buy that top that you think will not look good on you. buy that dress that is in your actual size, not your goal size, buy that shade that you think is too loud, and eat that pizza slice that you think will make you fat. post that article you think nobody gonna read, buy that single plane ticket for your favorite destination, and stop oversharing your heart with those who misunderstood.
stop worrying about things that will never happen if it happen you will figure it out. stop controlling your emotions and cry loud whenever you feel. It’s okay to be weak sometime, do not be hard on yourself...
and stop trying to frame yourself in the definition of perfect which is defined by others. I will always be there for you your best friend your family your Home.
Love
your best friend...

--

--