Good grief, writers. Cite!

Credible links make you credible.

Linda Caroll
xo Linda

--

public domain question mark photo from pixabay

I was reading a post about the effects of social media on culture when a sentence punched me in the face.

It referred to teenagers committing suicide after losing their social following. I stopped reading. Right there. What the…?

Seriously. What the actual f__?
Are you kidding me?
Is this hyperbole?

I mean, it wouldn’t surprise me if it was true. You know? But I didn’t know.
And you know why I didn’t know?

Because the writer didn’t cite.

Good grief, writers. Cite!

You’ll notice popular writers cite sources…

Some people add source links at the bottom. That’s lazy, but better than nothing. Lazy, because it’s a throwback to paper. Like the way they used to cite in college reports. The internet isn’t made of paper. You can link.

If you look at the populars, you’ll notice they link to sources.

If you reference the first published camera trap survey, you link.
If you say 26 out of every 100,000 pregnant women die, you link.

Mostly, people don’t click the…

--

--