Why Authors and Artists Struggle to Sell Their Work

The crossroads of creativity and commerce

Linda Caroll
xo Linda

--

Copyright: ICA Bulletin

Where do you find the answer when the people who most need marketing help are the least receptive?

In a book published way back in 1962, apparently.

But, let me backtrack a little. Marketing is my gig. Digital marketing, to be specific. Selling stuff on the internet…

The internet opened doors to entrepreneurs and dreamers that were never open before. Worldwide reach at their fingertips, and the potential excited me.

As a child, I knew my Grandpapa had painted all the beautiful paintings in one of the oldest churches here. But he worked the railroad to pay the bills, because he never could figure out how to make a living painting.

The first time I took a small business from the brink of bankruptcy to seven figures, I was over the moon. The second time, I began to think I was onto something. The third time, I knew I was. Along the way, my work was featured in Forbes and The New York Times and People and a whole bunch of lovely places like that and business flowed like honey.

All I could think was

--

--