Writing Doesn’t Have to Be Some “Big Production”

Take the drama out of it and let your humanity back in

Allison Burney
Write, I Must

--

Photo by Sean Lee on Unsplash

Something feels different this time around.

Different — but good.

I’ve once again focused my sights on writing this week, but I think I’ve approached it from a totally new angle than I usually do.

In the past, I’ve made a big production of it, treating the start of a writing challenge or decision to write again like I’m setting off on some big, brave voyage to save the world.

It felt serious, heavy, and daunting at times like it was the ultimate test of worthiness.

Do I have what it takes? Gulp.

Writing Is Not “All or Nothing”

I’m sure you can guess how that turned out…

Time after time, I’d be doing great, on a writing streak for days or weeks, or sometimes even months. And then, for whatever reason, I’d miss a day. And from there, the house of cards would crumble all around me.

I’d feel like a failure, yet again. Feeling like a failure only led to more inaction (no surprise there!), and suddenly months had gone by, and I hadn’t written a word.

--

--

Allison Burney
Write, I Must

Writer, ghostwriter & proofreader. On a mission to keep exploring, learning & enjoying this adventure we call life. Work with me: allisonburney.com