Dear God of 2020

a poem and a prayer

Jasmine Lawrence
Write It Out

--

Dear God of 2020
I thank you for this year
I thank you for the hearts you broke
For each and every tear

I thank you for the robots
The code in every build
I thank you for the lives you’ve saved
And every dream you’ve killed

I thank you for my mother
I thank you for my dad
I thank you for my sisters
And every fight that we have had

I thank you for the stories
Again they have been told
Thanks for when I felt you near
And days when you felt cold

I thank you for the fabric
That makes up every mask
I thank you God for Fauci
That you put him to the task

I thank you God for justice
Whenever it may come
I thank you that we matter
Your black daughters, your black sons

I thank you most for dying
The price to set me free
And though I am not worthy
I thank you for loving me

I thank you for this challenge
I pray we’ll overcome
I know that you’ll be with us
still in 2021

This poem brought to you by the support of my Patrons. Become one today!

--

--

Jasmine Lawrence
Write It Out

Feeler of Feelings and Lover of Humanity. Founder of EDEN BodyWorks and PM in Tech. Become a Patron: https://www.patreon.com/jasminelawrence