7 Lessons I Learned From My Mother’s Cooking Craft

Cooking is an art and she, the artist.

Pride
Write Like a Girl
3 min readFeb 19, 2021

--

Photo by Conscious Design on Unsplash

Cooking is art. A skilled, pure gift that’s underrated to some extent in our Indian homes when it comes to credit and recognition.

I mean, how long have we been watching our grandmas and mothers indulged in this sheer art? Since forever, right?

But we have normalized this privilege of eating wonderful food every day. It is a thing to cherish and be grateful for, daily. We have been serving our guests so proudly at home since time immemorial, especially in India where we believe in the concept of “Vasudhaiva Kuṭumbakam.” This creativity includes multitasking, accurate estimation and requires years of experience and expertise.

We give little credit to the homemakers, the women who are absolute achievers in our kitchens.

I have seen my mother cook absolutely relishing dishes at the ease of hand. Little did I know until I stepped in her shoes, the process is not easy. It took her years of engagement and exercise to have that near-perfection taste.

I remember the first time I cooked plain white rice, and it burnt out. I was so heartbroken and never wished to try my hands on again at cooking. The first time I made chapatis, it turned out to be the map of some unknown country I did not know of (thankfully, I did not give up cooking and learned the art over years).

That being said, we have important lessons to pick up from the wisdom of our homemakers. I picked up some and wish to pass that on.

So on days I stood beside her and gazed:

  1. I glanced at how she started with chopping, of proper shape and size, and took out the whole peel in one go (which I never can do to date). She cleaned the dishes, bright and thorough. When she put veggies in oil, she allowed them to reach a certain temperature and waited for them to turn brown. This taught me patience. Patience in dealing even with the smallest chores, waiting for the right time to let things happen, and then continuing with the next step.
  2. When she added the spices and waited for them to roast to get rid of their raw taste, I learned that detail is important and the process is necessary.
  3. When she added water at just the right amount, it taught me to be precise. Precision to see more than what meets the eye and makes us stand out.
  4. Anticipating to see food cooked taught me to be attentive at all times and proactive so that the food didn’t burn out. Being aware of our surroundings keeps us intact, alive, and in the moment. Proactivity, in my experience, is the most sought out skill, personally and professionally people and organizations are ready to invest in.
  5. And finally, when the dish is ready out and about, the happiness with which she serves is an utter delight and pure love. The satisfaction to watch others happy is serene and wonderful — something to be grateful for each day.
  6. I think jobs are better accomplished when planned, and so was her kitchen. All the groceries were always stacked up and prepared before she started to cook.
  7. In case she missed a thing or two, she improvises with other ingredients. Enjoying the process is important, and so is cooking. It has been the biggest stress-buster for her and me as well.

These lessons apply to all the art forms, professions, and work that people around us do to make our lives happier and complete. Be it our spouses, mothers, or anyone for that matter.

I learned from my mother’s kitchen, and you might as well from elsewhere.

The important thing is to keep learning and appreciate the talent around, no matter big or small. Being thankful for the little things in life will bring happiness and contentment.

--

--