Becoming Woman

A poem

Maryam Ibrahim
Write Like a Girl
1 min readJul 31, 2022

--

Photo by Chris Jarvis on Unsplash

I was born a living idol

worshipped by the lustful gaze of men

who ached to feel the folds of skin

that hung tight on my chest

folds that I nurtured from hurtful lumps

For their devotion,

I fed them from my chest

One they devoured with satisfaction,

and now repulsed,

for they sagged,

from the desire to be worshipped again

I was born,

with a deep wound between my legs

that I prayed to bleed from as a child,

for it was the beauty of a woman,

as I was told,

beauty I realized,

came in torrents of impure blood

flowing down my thighs,

like the tears flowing down my face,

from the pains of a wound that would never heal

I was born,

as I was told,

to find my rebirth,

in a child,

that had eyes like her father’s,

a nose like her grandfather’s,

brows like her dead uncle’s,

but like me,

had sweet misfortunes,

that hung in her long, black hair.

--

--

Maryam Ibrahim
Write Like a Girl

Content writer/creative writer/photographer/student nurse/vintage aesthetics addict