My Friends Said, ‘Go On The Rebound’

But is the morning version of myself willing to pay my night self’s price?

just a twenty something
Write Like a Girl
1 min readNov 23, 2020

--

The Idea of you seemed so easy and harmless mixed with sharp liquid.
Yet so did the apple before the sour bite chucked humanity out of the garden.
They promised laughs and hazy smiles.
Easy relief and an itch finally scratched.

But is the morning version of myself,
Willing to pay my night self’s price?

For that short moment of thoughtless relief,
Will it be worth the pain in the morning?
When awaken to smudge mascara and glitter around my neck.
Will it be worth the red-rimmed eyes, tangled hair, and bruises along my skin?

Will it be worth that awkward conversation?
“Do you take sugar in your tea?”
“I should really be going.”
“Oh really? You can stay longer if you like.”

Translation: Thank God you’re finally going, and I never have to see you again.

When the door shuts and I step under water spray to clean you off of my skin,
I look back in the mirror and think,

Was it really worth it? Following their lead?
Because now I feel worse than I did before.

-ARTEMIS INKS

--

--

just a twenty something
Write Like a Girl

none of this makes sense but maybe it could still be beautiful.