My Pet Tiger…Unleashed

A poem

Coka Brown
Write Like a Girl
Mar 8, 2023

--

Photo by Donnie Ray Crisp on Unsplash

Poem inspired by NPR’s prompt “I would like to” about restorative naps. Here’s to my recurring dreams about tigers!

I would like to nuzzle a tiger

Wrap my arms around her neck and move as she moves

Body undulating over muscular limbs

I would like to clutch a tiger

Until her mass becomes my own

Until my eyes can pinpoint

A jackal’s breath, its twitching chest a mile away

Until my ears can sense a twig snap

A hoof tap on dry brush

Until I can own the unrelenting bite, the knives for teeth

Until I can unleash the jaws that stay clenched in waking life

I would like to harness

The prowess, the power

The ferocity, the fearlessness

Of the deadly striker

Who can take down anything

Who only emerges

From me

In a nap.

--

--

Coka Brown
Write Like a Girl

Social justice and unabashed Native American rights advocate. Ardent reader, eclectic writer, frequent cusser.