Stop Asking People When They’ll Have Children

It’s really not any of your concern.

Mara Novi
Write Like a Girl
2 min readJan 27, 2023

--

Photo by Pylyp Sukhenko on Unsplash

If I had a dollar for every time I was asked when I would have kids, my mother would be poor.

It really is such an annoying question.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with having kids. If being a parent is what you want, baby dust to you.

People who are child free by choice deserve the same respect.

I don’t owe my mom a grandchild, just because I am 24 and married.

I’m not being selfish, as she likes to say, for choosing to live child free.

“Who will take care of you when you’re older?”

Wow, and you think I’m selfish for not having kids? Don’t have children with the expectation of getting something out of them.

“You’ll change your mind.”

Maybe. But I doubt it.

“You’ll regret it, one day.”

First of all, you’d never say that about someone who chose to have children, so why would you say that to me? Secondly, I’d rather regret not having children than regret having them.

Believe it or not, I can have a happy, fulfilling life and marriage without the company of a child.

We go where we want, when we want to do it.

We don’t have childcare costs.

I work full time and my partner is in college full time.

We enjoy our lives the way they are now.

Your question is rude.

--

--

Mara Novi
Write Like a Girl

I’m just starting my journey and sharing my story. Dog and cat mom, spouse, writer.