An Ekman Family Adventure

George Ekman
Write like Bishop
Published in
2 min readApr 13, 2018

It was planned for a day

Only to be delayed, delayed.

Time was. Short, need creeped up.

On a weekday

It was decided.

I was too tired, delayed, delayed.

Finally the next day

It was a busy one

Plans after school filled

A lot of time.

Traffic was bad, delayed, delayed.

Only minutes, only hours.

Soon we were off, optimistic

About time, a short time.

But no. The time was not short,

It only grew.

There was so much to look for

So many a decision:

To be made; fatigue

I needed to pick what to wear

At first it is fun

Options, options.

But quickly it loses

Nothing specific, overtaken,

Left with resources as I lose energy.

Taking things off, putting things on.

How hard can it be? Says the

Me who does each only once

I who never plans

Hour by hour we figure it out.

Pants, shirt, tie

Shoe after shoe

I learned my limits,

I learned what is beyond me:

As I try a shoe, doing tie after tie

We fall to an option,

Knowing we can always return.

Now the last

My brain is fatigued, my mom

Is stressed. My dad nowhere

Constantly nagging with text

But, just a belt.

To match my shoes, oh

A mistake.

It was a desert, with

watering holes not nearly abound

Our eyes deceiving us, uncontrolled

Due to frayed edges.

But finally they are found

A cliff of belts, but coated

In vines. Who knew, how annoying.

The surface was accessible

But nothing in value had the surface

It was in the deep that value

May lay, but nothing.

Move on we must,

To another valley of belts.

More options, more choices.

We find one, but we have made a critical error

We have forgotten of size.

Of course, too small.

Now everything is wrong

All of us hair long split, with no desire to stay

But with a hate to leave unfinished.

We search, we search, the vines

falling off the cliff as we do.

There is evidence of our decay

As we go back to primitives selfs, searching and gathering

My dad growing pissy,

Taking it to my mom.

I want something right,

But I am slipping.

I start to give,

And I fall,

And I pick a belt

Declaring us finished.

--

--