The Final Trip

Nikolas Brahmer
Write like Bishop
Published in
2 min readApr 17, 2018

Dusk set in for what seemed like the first time, but also the last;

The beginning, and yet the end.

The story was ending, but disregarded and unwanting.

As I observed the landscape,

The scenery began to turn

Turn from woods to roads, from home to frontier.

Time was too long with sadness, yet too quick with loneliness

As I left my family, a feeling swooped over my cold lonely body

A new feeling, an unsought one.

It swept back and forth through my body like a tide on a cold windy day

An empty cold black sea was running through me

With only one motive, emotional pain,

Appreciation was the light that warmed the sea,

However, still there are cloudy days.

As I fully left the North Woods, now deep in the night,

I recalled my families final moments.

We were a sea,

We had become one over time,

Now forced to separated,

One by one by one.

Each member taken as if helpless hatched turtles taken by gulls.

I one of the last roamed through our dorms, our home,

Each step recalling a memory.

A memory that acted like a dagger piercing my heart,

And as the daggers and memories left me

The holes allowed the empty sea to come creeping in,

Again needing appreciation to warm the cold sea,

However, still there are cloudy days.

--

--