Sarah Tries Outlining — WNP 095

Sarah Rhea Werner
Write Now With Sarah Werner
3 min readAug 27, 2021

*NOTE: This episode originally appeared on www.sarahwerner.com on October 7, 2020.

In school, we were taught that, before writing anything, we should outline it first. This outline needed to include all of the ideas and plot points that would be presented in the final version.

But… for someone who wrote to discover, learn, explore, and find joy, this particular method felt stifling, tedious, and redundant.

Many writers (myself and perhaps you included) still have this particular view, along with the negative memories to support it, and unfortunately, this view can actually limit our creative output.

It is important to understand there are so many ways to tap into our creative journeys without stifling the details or development of our creations. In this episode, we go over what my original views of outlining were, what changed in my perspective, and how I now feel about it.

Help support my podcast on Patreon! >>

My Original Views of Outlining

Along with the red ink that stained the pages, the very uniform process of outlining and keeping everything in perfect order, accounting for every possible detail, comprised my first impressions of outlining. As someone who wrote to find freedom, this exercise was stifling, and sucked all the joy out of my creativity. What if I wanted to change my story, my creation, my path along the way? Then I would have to go and “remake” that perfectly uniformed outline to create yet another story and make sure to include every single detail that was listed, nothing more and nothing less. Needless to say, I was not a fan.

Changing Outline Perspectives

This all changed with a personal experience with a dear friend, who explained outlining in a way that I honestly was not even open to. I had looked at outlining as a barrier, a prevention, or a trap, while my friend explained outlining as atool. Something that was used to better direct my creativity, not to stifle or ruin it. Then after taking that perspective, and practicing a few areas with help from Outlining Your Novel by K.M. Weiland, I was able to see firsthand the difference that outlining can make.

Current Thoughts on Outlining

What shocks me most about outlining is that my creativity is still free, and in fact, outlining may have shortened the process and saved me tons of time, energy, and effort in rewrites. Outlining does not require dotting the “i’s” and crossing the “t’s” as we were taught, but can be used instead as a guideline that vaguely sets the roadmap without setting things in stone. This allows the ability to still be very creative but also helps prevent a lot of rewrites and wrong traveled directions.

Taking the time to understand our views are of outlining and other tools (and where they originated) can help us in ridding stubborn prejudices and better understand how we can learn and grow in our craft. Knowing that there is no “right” or “wrong” way, and allowing yourself to have free range with a full set of tools can help keep your creations open while also saving you a lot of hassle and, eventually, frustrations.

Tell Me Your Thoughts.

Are you a plotter? A pantser? A plantser? Have you tried outlining — or are you going to begin? Let me know in the comments below!

Originally published at www.sarahwerner.com on October 7, 2020.

--

--

Sarah Rhea Werner
Write Now With Sarah Werner

I create the Write Now and Girl In Space podcasts. I love books, coffee, dinosaurs, & the free exchange of information. | www.sarahwerner.com