Have A Free Freelancer Contract Template

You definitely need a contract. Here’s mine. Take it!

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

--

Photo by Olu Eletu on Unsplash

I get this question from new freelancers sometimes, so I want to share my actual contract with you.

It is so important to have a contract in place as a freelancer, an entrepreneur, and as a client.

Your contract should dictate payments, deadlines, deliverables, and anything else having to do with the client/freelancer relationship. Both of you should sign this and have a deposit paid before ANY work is done (if you require one).

Of course, there are many free contract templates available online. I myself found my original contract after searching a bunch of sites to find one that I thought would work for me. I ended up adding and changing things on it and had an awesome lawyer friend take a look at it to make sure it all made sense and would be binding.

Contracts are put in place to protect ALL parties, not just the freelancer. The client is getting a guarantee of the work and deliverables they can expect, as well as timelines and payment schedules. Mine also covers intellectual property rights, confidentiality, rights to terminate, liability, and a couple miscellaneous things and the entire thing is less than 5 pages. The actual part that spells everything out (before the terms and…

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com