How I Became A Profitable Freelance Writer Immediately

I started freelancing over 2 years ago and have made $65k+ per year since starting.

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

--

Photo by Helloquence on Unsplash

I have been freelancing full-time for over two years now, part-time for a few months before that, and have been profitable since day 1.

One of the biggest reasons I was able to be profitable immediately was because I did not spend one single dime on anything business related.

No business cards, no website, no domain name, no marketing or ads, nothing.

Instead, the very first thing I did was go out and find clients.

There is no business, no money without clients.

So I took to LinkedIn, answered Craigslist ads, got on Indeed and Reddit. I went out and direct messaged people on Instagram and Facebook (through business pages).

I took a couple of random blog posts I’d previously written and put on my personal Blogspot blog that I’d had for 6 or 7 years. I edited them and formatted them as PDFs to use as writing samples.

I did research on freelance writer pricing and sometimes simply pulled numbers out of the air when talking to prospective clients.

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com