How to Make Money as a Freelance Writer

Faster than you think!

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

--

One of the questions that I get asked the most and see on writing forums all the time is “where do you find clients?”

I’ve talked about this before, discussing ways to start making money right away as a writer, how to work with a retainer business model, how to make money as a blogger, or as a book author.

But something I keep seeing even more of recently is this: “I got my first client! The pay is terrible, but it’ll be a professional piece for my portfolio!”

It’s awesome that you got your first paying client, but you have to get out of the mentality of doing something for low to no money just for your “portfolio.”

Even worse would be to work for free just to add things to a portfolio. Pro tip: Don’t work for free.

I am a full-time professional writer and editor, and I do not have a dedicated portfolio. I have writing samples and links I can send people, and even PDFs.

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com