Shaming Writing Job Posts

I’m doing it.

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

--

Photo Credit

There are SO MANY writing and editing jobs posted online every day. I’d know, I look through them at least a couple times a week, searching for new prospective clients and seeing what’s out there.

My main sources are ProBlogger, Craigslist, LinkedIn (not a great one for remote freelancing work), and Writing Axis.

Now and then I’ll come across other aggregator sites (ProBlogger and Writing Axis are both aggregators, LinkedIn and Craigslist are source listings) and check those, too.

Some of the jobs on these sites are awesome and I definitely have responded and found clients from the postings.

The issues and the ones I’m shaming are the problematic ones.

  • They’re “unpaid” or for “potential royalties” or “for fun”
  • They’re for slave wages
  • The ones that don’t list any payment or compensation at all
  • The ones that require FREE trial articles (scam)
  • The ones that require you to take hour-long assessments before finishing the application process (this is the least problematic type, but still annoying)

Here’s the fun fact everyone needs to remember:

FREELANCING IS NOT FREE.

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com