To niche…or not to niche?

Jennifer Gregg, PhD
Write & Prosper
Published in
4 min readJan 14, 2020

--

Don’t stress about it. Your decision should depend on where you are in your business.

Image by stokpic from Pixabay

When I first started as a freelance medical writer, I worried about a lot of things that didn’t really matter. My website, my logo…and the dreaded niche.

I said to myself, “How am I supposed to choose a niche when I don’t even know what I like to write about? Or the types of writing that I like to do?

It very much felt like a chicken or the egg kind of scenario. So, what did I do?

In my first year, I wrote about many different topics and I worked on many different types of projects. I wrote SBIR grants, needs assessments, news articles, and sales training materials. I prepared slide decks and developed CME programs. And I wrote about everything from ADHD to tuberous sclerosis complex.

This gave me the exposure to a breadth of both projects and topics and allowed me to figure out what I liked, what I didn’t like, and more importantly, what I was really good at writing.

Turns out, grant writing and CME was a good fit for me. And, I was pretty good at it. So much so that I had a pool of “sticky” clients that regularly approached me to work on additional projects (apparently a grant funding rate of ~70% will do that).

--

--

Jennifer Gregg, PhD
Write & Prosper

Visit www.writeandprosper.com for tips and inspiration for freelance writers who want to grow a profitable business.