The 5 Commandments for Writing Titles That Get the Clicks

Thou shalt write titles that score high on headline analyzers

Hogan Torah
Write! Right? Write!
8 min readMar 25, 2024

--

Image generated by author using Google ImageFX

It doesn’t matter where you publish your story, the title determines if readers click on it. If they don’t click, it doesn’t matter how good your story is.

This is a guide for any writer who publishes stories online that competes with other stories on a webpage. I will use Medium as an example. This is not a guide for search engine optimized titles. Writing titles for a site like Medium requires a different technique then writing headlines elsewhere.

This isn’t the same information you’ve heard by writers trying to make a quick buck. I am Hogan Torah. I’ve published over 700 stories on Medium during the past 5 years. I’m a member of the comma club. Meaning my partner payments statements have commas. Google me, I autofill.

Maybe you’ve read my Sharethrough Headline Analyzer guide. If you haven’t, you should. Sharethough’s analyzer helps me after I write my headline. This guide is for writing headlines. I will be using my headlines with over 10,000 clicks as examples.

Commandments, right.

After 40 days Hogan Torah came out of the Comma Club where the algorithm had given unto to him 5 commandments for his followers to

--

--

Hogan Torah
Write! Right? Write!

Counterculture journalist 💊 humorist 🤪 social media hegemon 🤴 Google me, I autofill 🕶️