TRAVEL

Bug Bites, Boston, and Beer

It’s not fun unless Urgent Care is involved

Nanci Arvizu
Write Speak Play
Published in
4 min readNov 23, 2021

--

Me in Boston. Photo by Susan Brearley

Part Two of a five-part series sharing my experience in The Garden of Neuro, September 24 to October 28, 2021.

Somewhere between Innisfree and Boston, I developed a rash, probably from a bug bite that happened while at Innisfree Gardens. Maybe it started with a mosquito that led to scratching and then I was touched by a leaf or something. It’s the or something I worried about as the rash spread.

So my first morning in Boston was spent at Urgent Care where I was prescribed prednisone and ointment. Twenty-four hours later it was like the whole thing never happened. Except it did, and I learned to not scratch and stay away from the trees.

Walking on Grass

All the Grass. And pre-mud shoes. Photo by author.

In the desert, you don’t walk on the grass. You don’t even walk on the desert. You walk on paths or trails and you stay on them. Stepping onto the desert floor kills it, which means dead and gone forever. So if you’re ever out here, please, for the love of the desert, stay on the path.

--

--